Paleo Banana Coconut Pancakes…No Thanks!

Okay folks, I tried. I really did.

I bought the coconut flour thinking it would be THE ultimate replacement for regular flour. When I got home from the grocery store, I eagerly searched the Internet for recipes using coconut flour in my effort to become gluten free. I found a recipe on a blog site for paleo-approved banana coconut pancakes. The photos on the blog site of the round, nicely browned pancakes doused in maple syrup made my mouth water. I couldn’t wait to try it.

See how nice these look! Photo credit: Fast Paleo via Myfitfamily.com

See how nice these look!
Photo credit: Fast Paleo via Myfitfamily.com

I enthusiastically followed the recipe, mashing the bananas and mixing in the eggs. I added the half a teaspoon of vanilla, the two tablespoons of honey and coconut flour and finally, the half a teaspoon of cinnamon and it started smelling wonderful. I was thinking, if this is as great as it smells, I’ve found my regular pancake replacement and I’ll blog about it.

Well…

I started to become concerned after the pancakes wouldn’t stay together as I flipped them. I thought, maybe I’m making them too big, I’ll make smaller ones instead. Same thing happened. They broke apart in the skillet and looked nothing like the pancakes in the blog photo.

Me trying to make them smaller so they won't break up in the skillet

Me trying to make them smaller so they won’t break up in the skillet

Hey, these don't look anything like the photo!

Hey, these don’t look anything like the photo!

 

I didn’t lose heart though because the blogger claimed the pancakes were so good her family gobbled them up. So, I put my broken pancakes on a small plate, dripped maple syrup on them and took my first bite…

Nope!

I gave it the ol' college try!

I gave it the ol’ college try!

I said to myself, I’ve got to get used to the taste, so I kept eating. I eventually shoved the rest down my gullet and quickly swallowed a glass of water. For me, it was the bizarre consistency. It tasted a bit grainy and quite frankly, it just didn’t agree with my palate.

But maybe it’s just me.

If you decide to give it try, let me know how it goes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Paleo Banana Coconut Pancakes…No Thanks!

  1. I’ve stared at the coconut flour – thinking I would take that leap to health that everyone is raving about. I kind of kicked myself when I walked away without putting it in my basket. I feel much better now! Hysterical post and perfect pictures!

Leave a Reply

