Postcards from St. Croix

This girl needed a break!!!!!

I took a much needed time out and got away to my friends’ retreat on island of St. Croix. The island felt largely deserted, almost abandoned, wild and unkept.  I loved it.

St. Croix is about 28 miles long and 7 miles wide and is the largest of the islands in the United States Virgin Islands (USVI).  It is home to approximately 30,000 souls.

Although each day was wonderfully relaxing, my most memorable day was our drive to Frederiksted on the west end of the Island. After a delicious lunch at a small but quaint shack on the side of the road (the name escapes me), we staked out a spot along the endless stretch of beach to enjoy a day of snorkeling.  What was cool about most of the beach spots we visited, if you took just two to three steps out into the water, you’d find a sharp drop off where you will be able to appreciate colorful fish darting in and out of various reefs. Too bad I didn’t have an underwater camera. Oh well, next time!

I also found the vibe at Frederiksted to be more laid back than the countries’ capital of Christiansted, located on the east side, were we stayed.  It was a pleasant Sunday when we loaded up the jeep and traveled to the west side of the island.  The atmosphere was festive with several families gathered at various points along the beach celebrating.  They decorated their claimed areas with balloons, while food and music wafted in the gentle island breeze.  Sunday, unlike any other day, appeared to be one of family gatherings and celebrations.  Even though the locals were enjoying their own particular festivities, it felt like one big community and we were all celebrating with them.   The next time I visit, I think I’ll spend more time on this side of the island…

2014-09-17 00.18.03_resized

We finally found a vacant spot and spent the day in and out of the ocean and basking in the sun…

With regards to food and great places to eat, I can’t recommend any because we mainly ate at our friends’ condo.  That was fine for me because they are pretty good cooks. We also enjoyed good wines and lounged around on their beautiful veranda overlooking a lagoon and small waterfall.

2014-10-16 08.50.32_resized

2014-10-16 08.55.58_resized

Even though we were there to relax, we managed to venture out to explore a rainforest, enjoy a pleasant drive to the east end of the island which featured amazing views atop cliffs where waves crashed against craggy rocks below. Very picturesque.

2014-10-16 08.53.23_resized

 

We also drove past a few of St. Croix’s well-mantained resorts and then over to unsavory parts of the island where we bounced endlessly up and down along unpaved roads and through rough bush which my friend “discovered” while we were “exploring” that gave way to another one of my most memorable experiences–a beautiful, untamed patch of rocky beach.  It turned out to be one of the best places to park, blast our Bob Marley, dance and watch the sun set.  I couldn’t have imagined a more magical moment.

2014-10-16 08.48.33_resized

 

2014-10-16 08.49.32_resized

This was truly an enjoyable and much needed respite.  I was able to sort a few things out in terms of career moves and now I am full speed ahead with my real estate and writing career…

Enjoy the pictures below while I get going…

Photos taken and edited with my Galaxy 3s–I’ve gotta get me a good camera soon 🙂

2014-09-17 00.15.42_resized

2014-09-17 00.10.18_resized

Afternoon in St. Crioix

Afternoon in St. Crioix

 

Our traveling buddies willing to take a foot photo!

Our traveling buddies willing to take a foot photo!

4 thoughts on “Postcards from St. Croix

Leave a Reply

