It’s Taco Time!

I love taco night. There actually isn’t a particular day of the week dedicated to taco night–just whenever I decide to make tacos, I get to declare, “taco night!” (It’s fun to be queen of my castle :-))

With world music softly playing in the background, I put on my “intuitive cooking hat” and thought about the type of tacos I wanted to make for dinner. We’d had fish and beef tacos in the past, so I thought making chicken tacos would be a nice change-up.  The goal was to make juicy, well seasoned chicken so that the toppings would simply add not help the overall flavor.

I heated oil in a skillet and then seasoned three chicken breasts with salt, pepper, season salt, cayenne and paprika. Once the oil started to warm, I threw in chopped onions and garlic.  I let that cook for a couple of minutes before I added the cumin seeds.  I let everything cook on medium heat for about six minutes until everything was soft and fragrant.

20140806_174514_resized

Next, I browned the chicken on both sides for about five minutes a piece. I covered the chicken, turned down the heat slightly and let the chicken cook until the juices ran clear.  I checked the skillet every now and again to turn the chicken.

20140806_181038_resized

Once the chicken was cooked through, I turned off the heat and let it rest. While the chicken rested, I took my dog for his evening walk and when I returned to the kitchen, I knew those tacos were going to be out of this world.  The room smelled divine.  I lifted the skillet lid and saw juicy pieces of chicken breast, saturated with the aromas of caramelized onions, garlic and cumin. Ooolala!

When my husband arrive home from work, I heated the flour tortillas, set out the cheese, sour cream, chopped lettuce, cilantro and poured the salsa verde into a bowl.  My DH loves salad, so he made a quick salad, poured the wine and we chowed down!

The tacos were magnificent!  I got exactly the taste I wanted and we enjoyed every bite!

20140806_190435_resized

If you’d like to give it a try, here’s the recipe:

Chicken Tacos
Ingredients:
3 or more chicken breast
Cooking oil
Salt, pepper, seasoning salt, paprika and cayenne (to taste)
Cumin seeds (1tbs)
3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1/2 onion, finely chopped.
Flour or corn tortillas, your choice

Suggested Toppings:
Cilantro
Chopped lettuce
Cheese
Sour Cream
Salsa Verde

Would like to try, next time:
Chopped Radish
Avocados
Tomatoes

Start by rinsing and patting dry your chicken breasts.
Season them with salt, pepper, seasoning salt, paprika and cayenne.  Set aside.
Heat your oil in the skillet.  Your oil should cover the bottom of the skillet.
Add your finely chopped onions and garlic.  Let the onion and garlic cook for 3 to 5 minutes on medium heat before you add the cumin seeds. Cook everything for an extra 3 to 5 minutes, or until everything is soft and fragrant.
Place your seasoned chicken in the pan and lightly brown each side (about 5 minutes a piece), on medium heat.
Cover your skillet for about ten minutes, rotating the chicken breast one time.  Leave them cooking for about ten minutes or until the chicken’s liquid runs clear.
Turn off heat. Let rest.
Prepare your toppings. Heat your tortillas.
Take your chicken out of the skillet and slice them, once cooled.
Assemble your tacos!

Let me know your thoughts and ENJOY TACO NIGHT!

 

One thought on “It’s Taco Time!

  1. Sounds (and looks) delicious. One of the kids at our house, 11-year-old Victoria, has her take on tacos: spaghetti tacos. She doesn’t like red sauce so she puts her cooked spaghetti in the taco shell and adds her favorites. Can’t say it’s my favorite version, but …..

Leave a Reply

