What Voice Are You Hearing?

vincent_van_gogh

 

“If you hear a voice within you saying, “you are not a painter, then by all means paint…and that voice will be silenced,” is a quote from the famous Dutch painter Vincent Van Gogh and happens to be one of my favorites.

What voice do you hear?
I am not a good writer
I am not good at organizing
I am not good at learning a new language…and so on…

You want to be an author, blogger, cook, athlete etc., but the voice in your head says you’re not that good at it, so therefore, you can’t do it.  You play a tape in your head, a memory of a past rejection, to confirm the truth of the statement.  You agree with this memory and abandon your dream, allowing it to fade into the vast wasteland of unfulfilled callings.

Today is the day this ends for you.  Perfect is the enemy of good.  You don’t have to be perfect, you just need to get started.  I’ll say it again.  You don’t have to be perfect, you just need to get started.

Perhaps you need a quick tool to deal with that voice in your head.  Here’s the simple bit of advice that has helped me in the past:

Allow yourself to confront the voice in your head saying, “you’re not good at___.”
Write whatever is said down in a journal and take one action step each day to get you closer to doing what the voice in your head (I call them gremlins) says you can’t do.  If you don’t know what action steps to take, then google, you tube, take a class, ask somebody, join a club, read a book to help you make a plan.

Journal your process, your ups and downs, making a clear commitment to yourself to do it, in spite of….

AND

Meditate on the scripture below. Say it out loud each day before you begin to attack take on that gremlin.  As you take steps to accomplish the thing you want to do, the voice in your head will lose it’s ability to speak so that you can hear.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13 NKJV

Selah.

 

2 thoughts on “What Voice Are You Hearing?

  1. VanGoth, Manet, Degas ….. aren’t they all wonderful? I could live in an Impressionists Museum! or inside of Pride and Prejudice, or a Beethoven Symphony .. and yeah, I’m not good at creating any of them, but I should get back to that piano in my living room! Or write a short story. I always tell myself I’m not creative — can’t think of an idea — but I write from life.
    You’re the best.

Leave a Reply

