Container Gardening, Pt. 2

I’ve been enjoying the summer months as much as I can, especially now that my husband is on the mend and he no longer needs, “nurse April.” My plan is to “dig” in (pun intended) and return to my new found source of peace and enjoyment—container gardening!

You’ll recall in an earlier post, I considered growing plants and herbs in pots as gardening. Today, I want to retract that and just regard what I am doing as container gardening.   Since the last gardening-related post, we’ve eaten close to a dozen juicy red tomatoes grown straight from the tomato plant we planted back in May. We’ve cooked several dishes with the herbs picked straight from our herb containers. It’s been amazing! What a gift to one’s health and overall sense of wellbeing. I think everyone should have their own container garden and grow something, even if it’s just rosemary.

I am told for beginning container gardeners, tomatoes, sweet peppers and certain herbs like: thyme, rosemary, mint, sage and oregano are the best and easiest to grow. Literally, all I did was plant, feed, water and watch in awe as each plant produced what they were designed to produce.

It’s a really simple thing to do. I got my plants and herbs from Wal-Mart and Home Depot. I bought a few pots, potting soil and plant food.

It took us about forty minutes to plant all the herbs and fruit plants.

Here are a few hints I found helpful in growing the following herbs, tomato and sweet pepper plants:

Oregano, rosemary and sage like well-drained soil, full sun and low to moderate watering.

Mint likes damp soil and sun and partial shade. For this herb, you don’t need to add plant food.

Neither thyme nor basil need plant food. Thyme likes rockier soil. Basil does not like to sit in water. Both enjoy full sun.

Fruit plants, like tomato and sweet bell pepper, like well-drained soil, full sun and to be watered heavily in the summer months when producing.

Have any other helpful tips? I’d love to hear them.

Happy Container Gardening!

2014-06-21 20.20.482014-07-07 15.02.282014-06-21 22.09.3820140715_12351120140715_12354120140715_12355120140715_123601_resized

2 thoughts on “Container Gardening, Pt. 2

  1. Thanks for the tips. I have a lonely tomato plant on my deck right now and I’m hoping that it will actually produce some tomatoes at some point this summer. I’ve been considering growing some herbs on the deck too. Question for you: I can’t tell how big your pots are — what size pots would you recommend?

    • Hi Marissa,
      Thanks for reading my post. I have a large 27″ rectangular pot for my sage, mint, thyme and oregano (it fits nicely on my brick ledge). So far, so good. I may replant one or two of those herbs later on if they seem to overgrow.
      But most folks use round pots that are 10″- 14″ in diameter. My rosemary is in a pot of its own and it is 12″ in diameter. Let me know how it goes and best of luck!

Leave a Reply

