Mother Teresa and Jim are at the Checkout Line…Day 7

Mother Teresa and Jim are waiting in a long checkout line at a retail store.

Jim
Can’t they open another line? I’ve been standing here for five whole minutes!

Mother Teresa
It appears all the cashiers are busy. They’re having a sale today, you know.

Jim
(turning around, surprised)
Oh sorry, Mother. I just ran in here for some baby wipes and now I’ve got to wait while the cashier takes his sweet time.

Mother Teresa
(looks at the cashier, smiles)
He’s just doing his job, dear.

Jim
Yeah, but he needs to do it some other time. Doesn’t he see this line? I mean, just scan the darn thing and keep it movin’! We don’t have all day!

Some people in line nod their heads and grunt approval of Jim’s comment

Mother Teresa
What’s your name?

Jim
Jim.

Mother Teresa
My name is Teresa. Are you Catholic?

Jim
I grew up Catholic, but I haven’t been to mass in awhile…(beat) I do like the new Pope and what he stands for, so maybe I’ll start going again.

Mother Teresa
That’s good to hear. Oh, look the line’s moving again.

Jim
Yeah, but there he goes again! What is that guy doing? I mean really, look at him Mother. Is he flirting with that female customer? I’m sure you wouldn’t approve of that.

Mother Teresa
I don’t think that’s what he’s doing. It’s just good customer service. Patience is a virtue my dear!

Some people in line nod and agree with Mother Teresa.

Jim
Well forgive me Mother, I don’t agree. And I additionally don’t like the fact that these foreign guys, what is he, Middle Eastern? They come over to our country, take our jobs and then don’t give us the customer service that we need.

Mother Teresa
And what type of customer service would that be?

Jim
Efficiency, Mother. Our country is built on efficiency.

Mother Teresa
Oh dear Jim, if you only knew real suffering and truly understood how privileged you are! You talk like a man who is used to getting everything he wants.

Jim
Except for today.

Mother Teresa
Yes, you have to wait. That’s life. Perhaps God is teaching you something.

Jim
Yeah, not to come to this store on a sales day!

Mother Teresa
Look at the cashier. He’s doing his job and treating each customer as though they were someone special. Don’t you want to be treated like that?

Jim
Well…

Mother Teresa
Well, I can’t wait to be served by this young man. I could use a smile and warm conversation. Oh, look you’re next!

Cashier
(to customer)
Now you take care. I’ll be in prayer with you.

The customer leaves smiling. Jim puts the baby wipes on the conveyor belt. Finally, he’s going to be leaving the store.

Jim
I made it! Finally! Thank you, Jesus!

Cashier
You’re welcome, Jim!

Mother Teresa

 

4 thoughts on “Mother Teresa and Jim are at the Checkout Line…Day 7

  1. This post was put together really well! Love the idea of Mother Teresa checking out at the grocery store, love her quote at the end, and LOVE who the “surprise cashier” turned out to be! Great job, April!

Leave a Reply

